Miriam Mackie


Miriam Mackie’s work for singers, organ, chamber ensembles, piano and orchestra has been widely performed at venues including Southwark and Hereford cathedrals, St Bride’s Fleet Street, Morley College, and St James’s Piccadilly, where she has contributed liturgical music.

Performances have been given by organist Thomas Trotter and pianist Rolf Hind, among others. As well as being commissioned by the LFCCM to write the Responses for the Choral Evensong broadcast on Radio 3 during the 2018 Festival, the Invocation to St Pancras was first included in the Festival in 2013.

Other work includes Lurches Away (2014) for piano and mixed ensemble, Modern Times: the life and death of Simone Weil (2016) for soprano and percussion, Sappho Fragments (2017) for six sopranos, commissioned by Philomel, and Footsteps in the sea (2018) for solo piano. In 2019 she wrote Same Place for the Marsyas Trio (flute, cello and piano). Miriam founded chamber choir Illumination, most recently conducted by Alexander Campkin. They premiered the Missa Brevis, which will also be performed by the Meljon Singers in March 2020.

Biographical Details

Works by Miriam Mackie

Festival performances of works by Miriam Mackie

Festival commissionCall for Scores submissionWorld premiere

LFCCM 2018

LFCCM 2013